History

The Clachan Inn is the oldest registered licensed pub in Scotland and means “a building of stone”, a more permanent construction of its time when many buildings were made of turf.

In 1734, it was the first of its kind to have its own still to distil and sell its own whisky. The first licensee of The Clachan was Mistress Gow, one of Rob Roy’s sisters.

The historyof the Clachan Inn is fascinating and many relics of yesteryear remain to his day. For example, the Amuary next to the fire place was used to store and hide salt when it was taxed. The Auld bougar, a load baring cruik beam that originally held up the heavy turf and thatch roof is still retained within the bar area of the Clachan.

Centuries ago, Drymen was a collecting point and market place for cattle raised in the highlands on route for the major meat market at Smithfield London. The Endrick river which flows nearby and into Loch Lomond was the lowest crossing point for the driven cattle. The most famous drover of all, RobRoy MacGregor took 6-8 weeks to take the cattle to London covering around 18-20 miles in a day.

In 1669, the Scottish Parliament authorised a weekly market in Drymen and two annual cattle fairs in May and October.